Upfirst vs Ruby
Low-volume shops wanting per-call billing
Estimate, not a vendor claim: 5 missed calls/week × 40% close rate × $350 avg job. Change the numbers to match your shop.
Live virtual receptionist service with US-based receptionists; also offers chat.
Estimate, not a vendor claim: 5 missed calls/week × 40% close rate × $350 avg job. Change the numbers to match your shop.
Side-by-side
| Upfirst | Ruby | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Standard | Live answering service |
| Lowest listed plan | Starter: $24.95/mo | 50 minutes: $250/mo |
| Highest listed plan | Scale: $299/mo | 500 minutes: $1725/mo |
| Plans listed | 4 | 3 |
| Billing | Per call | — |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Contract | Monthly or annual (save 20%) | — |
| After hours | 24/7 | — |
| Integrations | — | — |
| Best for | Low-volume shops wanting per-call billing | — |
| Price verified | 2026-10-13 | 2026-10-13 |
Choose Upfirst if… / Choose Ruby if…
- + Publishes its prices openly
- + Billed per call, so long calls don't cost more
- + Publishes its prices openly
- + Human receptionists answer calls
Based on each vendor's published pricing and documentation.
Full plan lists for Upfirst and RubyRead more ▾
Upfirst plans
| Plan | List price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $24.95/mo | 30 calls; $1.50/extra call |
| Premium | $59.95/mo | 90 calls; $1/extra call |
| Pro | $159.95/mo | 300 calls; $0.75/extra call |
| Scale | $299/mo | 600 calls; $0.70/extra call |
Source: https://upfirst.ai/pricing · verified on 2026-10-13. Prices in USD as listed by the vendor; taxes, setup fees and usage overages may apply.
Ruby plans
| Plan | List price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| 50 minutes | $250/mo | |
| 200 minutes | $720/mo | |
| 500 minutes | $1,725/mo |
Source: https://www.ruby.com/pricing/ · verified on 2026-10-13. Prices in USD as listed by the vendor; taxes, setup fees and usage overages may apply.
FAQ
Is Upfirst cheaper than Ruby?
By listed starting price, Upfirst is cheaper (From $24.95/mo vs From $250/mo, verified 2026-10-13). The total depends on your users, calls or minutes.
Which has a free trial?
Upfirst: not stated on vendor site. Ruby: not stated on vendor site.
Do I need a contract?
Upfirst: Monthly or annual (save 20%). Ruby: ask vendor.
Related comparisons
Price changes and new tools, every week
One short email for home-service owners. We track vendor prices so you don't have to.
TradeTested is independent. We may earn a commission from some links, and sponsored placements are always labeled. How we make money · How we verify